Book Review: Fire Falling (Air Awakens Series Book 2) by Elise Kova

Air Awakens Series
The Revenant City Series Book 1

Disclosure: Some of the links below are affiliate links, meaning, at no additional cost to you, I will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. To learn more about affiliate links please see the privacy policy and disclaimer

Title of Book:  Fire Falling (Air Awakens Series Book 2)

Author: Elise Kova

Main Character(s): Vhalla Yarl and Prince Aldrik

First Published: October 2016

Pages: 382

First Sentence: “The world was an inferno. Thick smoke. Ash. Blistering heat.”

Last Sentence: “The last thing Vhalla saw was the moment when Aldrik’s body met the ground, blood pooling instantly about his broken and lifeless form, before everything went black.”

Sometimes sons don’t turn out like their fathers……

Story Line Overview: 

Vhalla Yarl is a commoner with a passion for knowledge and books. She is learning about her new skills as the Wind Walker and what it means to serve the empire.

Literally a slave, but thankful to be alive, Vhalla swears to herself to become a weapon unlike any the empire had ever seen before.

Little did she know that the empire would stand in the of her uniting with the one she loves, the dark Prince, Aldrik. The emperor sees her as nothing more than a tool, a sword for the empire to wield. But for the dark prince, Vhalla means much more than that.

Unexpected circumstances leads Vhalla to learn more about Aldrik than any other. Their bond ties them together in ways that only time and exploration can tell. The adventure continues as Vhalla march with the troops toward the front line. They will fight for their lives or lose themselves to the empire.

My review:  

This novel didn’t flow as well as the first one. I didn’t like how the chemistry between Aldrik had to be secret. I mean, I get why they couldn’t tell others, but I didn’t like that they were so secretive. Also, Aldrik shows a side of himself that no one has ever seen before. His past lay open and bare for Vhalla to see and it unsettles him.

Overall, I would give this novel 4 out of 5 stars. I still want to know what is going to happen to the characters so I am going to push forward and read Earth’s End, but I hope the story line will get better—more involved.

I would recommend this story to anyone who loves A Court of Thorns and Roses, The Lux Series, and The Sanctorian Series.


To read more reviews visit Book Reviews by Cynthia

Young Adult Fantasy and Post Apocalyptic Novelist
Author of The Sanctorian Series & The Revenant City Series

Just a minute…
Tribes Grow Better Together! Make Sure To Share With Friends!

<<<<<<<<<<PREVIOUS REVIEW<<<<<<<<<<

Book Review: Wrath of the Gods (The Titan’s Saga Book 2) by Leia Stone and Jaymin Eve

Maisey Parker and Cronus come to a truce after a temporary separation. Cronus needs Maisey if he is going to save the world. They will have to go through unimaginable trials, fight against the old prejudices, and figure out where they stand with each other.

>>>>>>>>>>NEXT REVIEW>>>>>>>>>>

Book Review: Fire Falling (Air Awakens Series Book 2) by Elise Kova

Vhalla and Aldrik find themselves at the front line of combat. Vhalla, inexperience and untrained, must defy all odds and find a way to survive.

Published by Cynthia Brandel

Published author and founder of, Cynthia has captivated the world with her works of fiction including The Sanctorian Series and her latest work, The Revenant City Series. Lover of young adult reads and fantasy reads, Cynthia has transformed her passions into a full-time career.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: